Tags

, , , ,

Driving through South Dakota, the land is mostly flat. So, it’s easy to see the Badlands as you pass through. Eric told me great things about his camping experience here which made me excited to finally enter the National Park and set up camp. My cousin reserved a nice spot right in the park. We arrived as the sun started to set so we hurried to set up camp and began heating the grill for dinner.

IMG_3258 IMG_3263 IMG_3265 IMG_20130620_190322_527 IMG_20130620_195950_596We had such a pretty view from our site. This made me even more excited for all of the hiking and camping we had planned for the next few days. It was relaxing admiring the beautiful scenery and we enjoyed playing a few games as we waited for dinner. You are not allowed to have an open fire pit but that didn’t stop us from making smores over our coal grill. It amazes me how clear the night sky can be once you are away from civilization. Sometimes all you need is a break from the city to remind you of how vast and calm the rest of the country still remains. Once the sun was gone, I fell asleep looking out at the stars with a cool breeze coming through our tent. 🙂

