Tags

, , , ,

After exploring Mammoth Cave National Park, we started our drive to St Louis the next morning. It was a pretty uneventful drive. I could tell we were getting closer to the city as we started to see more cars on the road. I began to see the arch at a distance and was excited to have finally arrived. Luckily it was a pretty cool out and the rain turned to a light drizzle. We parked the car and made our way to lunch, of course searching for St Louis BBQ.

IMG_20130525_123954_726A friend of mine lives in St Louis and she recommended Bogarts. We arrived to a line out the door and down the block. The line moved fast and soon we were enjoying tasty BBQ. I had the pulled pork sandwich and Eric tried the ribs. While I wouldn’t  consider BBQ my favorite food, it was pretty darn good! To relieve our full stomach’s we walked around a local farmers market checking out the produce and other goods being sold.

Soon it started to rain again, so we decided a nice indoor activity would be exploring the Anheuser-Busch brewery. Wow, it was huge! Bigger than the Guinness brewery in Dublin!

IMG_20130525_142132_643 IMG_20130525_144755_690We started on the tour, saw the stables with a few Clydesdale horses, but eventually decided to wander on our own and go to the beer tasting room where you could try any of their beers.

IMG_20130525_150538_894I never knew how many beers are actually part of Anheuser Busch! Finally the rain subsided so we took advantage of the dry weather to see the St Louis Arch before meeting my friend for dinner. We were able to park nearby and walked right up to it.

IMG_3162 IMG_3164 IMG_3166There were also nice views of the river and part of the St Louis skyline. It was not as crowded as I anticipated since it was a holiday weekend so we were able to enjoy it without pushing through crowds. Eventually we ended the day with dinner and beers at a local brewery in the city. I still can’t believe how much we accomplished in our short day visit. But, I was exhausted and fell asleep as soon as we got to the hotel. The next day to Hot Springs, Arkansas would be a long day of driving (not planned) so I was glad to get the extra rest!

