Tags

, , ,

In my attempt to have a somewhat “healthier” cinco de mayo, I decided to served baked fish tacos. Originally, I considered doing grilled fish but all the rain interfered with that plan. Fish tacos are best when you cook firm, white, flaky fish. I went to the farmers market and picked up cod fillets to use for the tacos.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb of cod fillets
  • 1tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425
  2. Combine the olive oil, lime juice, chili powder, cilantro, and jalapeno pepper
  3. Pour over the fish and let it marinate for 15-20 minutes (I marinated for 40min), season with salt and pepper
  4. Place fish on a foil covered baking sheet (sprayed with nonstick spray) and cover with foil.
  5. Bake for 15-18 minutes, remove foil cover and bake for an additional 3 minutes.
  6. Break fish into smaller pieces to fit inside a tortilla
  7. Serve with toppings (I had mango slaw, pico de gallo, shredded cheese, chopped jalapeno, salsa, guacamole)

mex fish tacoTacos are great for parties since they are fairly easy to prep and everyone can make their own taco customizing it the way they like. Our friend made a Mexican soup to go along with the meal. My picture isn’t the greatest but all the food was eaten before I had a chance to take a new picture. I guess that is a sign that the food was a success :-)… and it was relatively healthy (trying to be better with food while in boot camp)!

