Tags

, ,

But it’s definitely the good type of sore. After signing up for fitness boot camp, I am proud to say week 1 is complete! It has been a little rough adjusting to waking up at 5:30am to get ready and go but gratifying to be finished by 7am. I am slowly learning to get everything ready the night before and I’ve been making an effort to sleep earlier in order to get enough sleep.

Here is how the first week went–

Day 1:

  • Warm ups (jogging and stretches) and introductions to proper form. The warm up was more than I was expecting and I was definitely out of breath before the actual workout started.
  • Baseline assessments: Holding plank, push-ups (on my toes), jumping rope (especially challenging for those lacking coordination…me!), squats, and burpees (I have a love-hate relationship with these).

Day 2:

  • Warm up and more introductions to proper form
  • Kettle bell presses (15lbs each side), kettle bell swings (25lbs)
  • Timed sequence of plank, kettle bell swings, push ups, then kettle bell swings

Day 3:

Rest day so I went for a light run

Day 4:

  • Warm up jog
  • 2 rounds of stations (spending 4 min at each station) including: running an agility course, 10 kettle bell swings, 10 bent over rows, bear crawl, crab walk back, 10 side plank crunches, 5 med ball burpee throws (12lbs), 10 jumps over a ball.

Day 5:

  • Warm up jog and stretches
  • Completed 5 rotations of: 30meter touch run back for 5 times, 10 push-ups, 15 sit ups, 20 squats
  • Team game: 20 triceps dip, planks, table stance, 150meter sprint, 10 burpees, 20 box jumps.

Day 6: (tomorrow)

  • Much needed yoga!!

So I’m feeling tired and sore but I think I that is reasonable considering the tough first week. The intro to proper form was really helpful. So many people are injured because of incorrect form and this is preventable. I think taking the time to learn the moves and having a proper warm up/cool down is the key piece! I even do a little more of a cool down stretch once I get back home to make sure I stay injury-free! Let’s hope I can keep up my motivation over the next few weeks!

