Tags

, , ,

I’m not a picky eater and usually enjoy most foods. This being said, there are a few things I am trying to appreciate more, a few including: onions, apples, and chickpeas. Chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans) have always been interesting to me. I really like humus which is basically mashed chickpeas (with some other things) but eating whole chickpeas has never been my favorite thing. So, in an attempt to broaden my food horizons, I decided to try making some sort of curried chickpeas assuming that all of the flavors would make the chickpeas much more appealing to me.

Ingredients:

  • 1 15oz can of organic garbanzo beans
  • 1 15oz can of organic diced tomatoes-no salt added
  • quarter of an onion chopped (trying to learn to like these as well)
  • chopped garlic
  • chopped cilantro
  • 1 tbsp chopped ginger
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a pan then add onion and garlic
  2. Add the curry and cumin powder and mix
  3. Add chickpeas and diced tomatoes
  4. Stir and add ginger
  5. Season with salt and cilantro
  6. Let it all simmer for a few minutes
  7. Done!

curried chickpeas 2 curried chickpeas 3I ended up serving it over rice. Delicious!

curried chickpeas 1

