Tags

, , ,

Eric and I spent the weekend in Pittsburgh, PA visiting friends. We’ve been to Pittsburgh before so this time around we wanted to explore and visit new places. One of the first things on the list was of course something food-related, Primanti Bros! Primanti Bros has been around since 1933 serving sandwiches “Pittsburgh” style. What does that mean? It means that your sandwich comes topped with cole slaw and fries along with all the other normal toppings.

2013-03-08_11-27-07_681 2013-03-08_11-40-44_936Weird, I know! I ordered a corned beef sandwich. It was really cold outside and I really needed something warm. Well, my sandwich came out much bigger than anything I could actually bite into. It was tasty, but the fries really sink in your stomach and I struggled to finish my sandwich. Luckily I was starving from not eating all day and was able to get through most of it.

We decided to walk off all the food and headed to the Heinz history museum. I was excited to learn all about ketchup and the Heinz company.

2013-03-08_12-35-15_614Well, I learned once we arrived that the Heinz history museum really has little to do with ketchup and is more about the history of Pittsburgh. I was a little disappointed but I now know more about Pittsburgh than I think I will ever need to know LOL.

Oh, and apparently Heinz makes a jalapeno ketchup and a balsamic ketchup. I was told it’s available in some stores so now I’m on the lookout for bottles to try!

