Tags

, , ,

Participating in our meat CSA has been a great way for us to support local farmers, promote responsible animal treatment, and try new cuts of meat since you often get a variety box each month. During our last pick-up, we got a rack of pork spare ribs. I have eaten spare ribs before so I was not too intimidated when I pulled out the large rack. I kept thinking of all these fancy ways to prepare the ribs but it never happened since I just didn’t seem to really have the time.

After a couple of days passed, I decided to go the easy/quick, but still tasty, route with the ribs.

Ingredients:

  • Rack of pork spare ribs
  • Your favorite BBQ sauce- we decided to try a trader joes brand sauce.
  • Seasoning: salt, pepper, garlic powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F
  2. Bring a large pot of water to boil
  3. Cut rack into individual ribs and place in the boiling water
  4. Boil for 25-30 minutes
  5. Pull the ribs out and drain the water
  6. Season each rib and place in a baking dish, I used a 9×13 dish
  7. Brush bbq sauce onto each rib, covering the rib
  8. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping the ribs in between the time and covering with more bbq sauce

bbq spare ribs 1 bbq spare ribs 2

I served the ribs with some corn and of course a couple of cold beers ๐Ÿ™‚ Eric LOVED the ribs and even said it was “blog worthy.” There are definitely benefits to cooking bbq slowly, but these ribs still turned out tender and yummy. Plus not many people have time to spend hours cooking ribs, especially on a week night…well, at least I do not have that kind of time. Boiling the ribs beforehand ensures that the meat is cooked and made tender.

