Tags

, , , ,

I have never been to state fair (at least not one that I remember) and so I was intrigued when I learned about the Ga National Fair. The fair was about 2 hours south of Atlanta and would normally have been too far of a distance to justify driving for just a fair. But, we also made plans to visit a friend in the area so I was more open to the idea. It was neat to see the animals, browse the local stands, and snack on fair food. I avoided the rides/games are since it seemed to be packed with lots of families and their kids. We ended up watching a cow showing (I didn’t even know they did this). The cows were well-groomed making them look really fluffy and cute up close.

There was also a scarecrow competition…

After walking around for a few hours, I was ready to head back home to Atlanta. On the way home, I tried thinking of another dish to use more of the apples. Since the baked apples were a tasty after dinner dessert, I decided to try something similar…easy apple cobbler. I ended up seeing this recipe at food.com and made my own adjustments.

Ingredients:

  • 3 large apples, sliced and peeled
  • 1 cup all-purpose flower
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup smart butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Put apples in a lightly greased 8×8 inch baking dish.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, cinnamon and egg.
  3. Sprinkle topping over the apples.
  4. Pour melted butter over the entire dish.
  5. Bake 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Sorry, there is no picture. Eric ended up eating nearly half before I could even take picture! It was tasty, though, and that is the most important part!

