Tags

, , ,

Turn on the oven and make a tasty dinner, of course!

I had a pretty low-key weekend in Atlanta. It was nice to just relax, catch up on house activities, and even squeeze in a hike before all the rain came. The cooler weather has made for some great hiking so a few friends of mine decided to go on a more local hike right outside of Atlanta at Kennesaw mountain. Kennesaw mountain not only has hiking trails, but it is also the site of old civil war grounds. So, while we hiked up and around the mountain, we also saw canons and open battlefields. It was physical activity and history lesson all rolled into one. After spending the first half of the day out hiking, I was ready to go home and start prepping for dinner.

We had a whole frozen rock fish (also known as striped bass) right from the wharf in our freezer and I decided to take a stab at cooking the fish. I’ve had rock fish before, but I never actually made it myself. Luckily, the fishermen had already cleaned the inside and scaled the fish which spared me from doing the hard work.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. After washing the fish, rub olive oil all over and season with salt, pepper, and thyme
  3. Splash lemon juice and cover with foil
  4. Bake in the oven for about 30 min. You will know the fish is done when the meat flakes on a fork

The rock fish has a very light flavor and isn’t overly “fishy” in taste. We really enjoyed our dinner, especially with some sautéed veggies and jasmin rice.I saw a lot of other recipes for making stuffed whole fish; maybe I’ll attempt those next!

