Tags

, , , ,

Goal #18 Try 24 new Atlanta restaurants

I’m making pretty good progress with this goal. It is not even October yet and I am up to 22 restaurants. As much as I love eating out and trying new places, we are also on saving mode for a few upcoming trips so we have been trying to cut back on dinner expenses. Plus, I also enjoy cooking at home and attempting new recipes so it’s really not too bad. It’s been a while since I tried making something new so I started to look at what we had in our refrigerator and pantry. My cousin sent me an email a few weeks ago with a recipe for mini corn dogs. Corn dogs are definitely a guilty pleasure for me but the recipe she shared required baking instead of frying so I didn’t feel so bad giving this a try.

Ingredients:

  • 1 8.5oz box of cornbread mix (I ended up using a box from trader joes that was much larger (15oz) so I made some extra cornbread with leftovers)
    Follow what the box tells you to add, mine listed:
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 chicken hot dogs
  • 1 tbsp honey

Directions:

  1. Mix ingredients together based on directions for your cornbread
  2. Slice hot dog into 6 pieces, do this for all 4 hotdogs. (I initially did 5 pieces but this was too big.)
  3. Spray the wells of a mini muffin pan with cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  4. Fill each mini muffin well with about 1/2 TBS batter.  Place a piece of hot dog into each well, pressing in.
  5. Top each hot dog with about a tsp. of batter, covering hot dog. (Because my pieces were large, it took more batter to cover which ended up overflowing as it baked)
  6. Bake in oven for 10 – 15 min.  or until golden brown.  Allow to cool in pan for 5 min. before removing to platter.

Yes, I know mine look messy and overflowing and really these are more like corn dog muffins than normal corn dogs. But, I also made them at home so they will not be perfectly shaped like the commercially made ones. In the end, they were delicious which is all that really matters.

(This second picture kinda looks like cookies LOL)

These were also baked and not fried like traditional corn dogs, and I used chicken hot dogs instead of regular (they taste the same) so it is even healthier! I know I have a lot of side comments in the ingredients and directions section but I learned what changes need to be made so hopefully this helps if you end up giving it a try.

Thanks Katie for sharing this food idea with me!

