Tags

, , , ,

My breakfast consists of the same thing every morning, a banana and mixed fruit hemp protein shake. Sounds delicious doesn’t it…lol well maybe once you get over the gritty hemp taste. It really is almost a nutty flavor so it’s not too bad. I actually find myself looking forward to my morning shake. Considering I am not a huge breakfast person, a shake works perfectly for me.

I decided to switch things up a little to put my oven to good use. On relaxing weekend mornings, it’s always nice to eat real food in the morning like a frittata. But I really do not allow time on weekday mornings to sit and eat a meal so I thought a bite size version of a meal might work just as well. Based on the ingredients I had available, I made mini mushroom and cheese frittatas.

This makes about 8 in a mini muffin pan

  • cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion (I use slightly less since I’m not a huge onion fan)
  • 2/3 cup mushrooms chopped
  • 1/3 cup shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped chives
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 large egg white, 1 large egg (cage-free, organic)
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat.
  3. Add onion; saute 2 minutes or until crisp-tender.
  4. Add mushrooms; saute 3 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat; cool 5 minutes.
  6. Combine remaining ingredients in a large bowl; stir with a whisk.
  7. Add mushroom mixture, stirring with a whisk.
  8. Spoon mixture into miniature muffin cups coated with cooking spray.
  9. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until set.

I tried to make them slightly healthier by using more egg whites, no meat, and low fat cheese. I also ended up making a lot more than intended so it made for an office treat 🙂

