Tags

,

As much as I enjoy juicing, the juice does not always give me everything that I need after a workout. I have been drinking the same pre-made protein drink to supplement but after a while, it gets boring and expensive to continue. The problem with most protein mixes is that they tend to have that gritty taste or be too high in cholesterol. Finally, a friend introduced me to organic hemp protein powder.

It had the amount of protein per serving that I am looking for but without the unhealthy parts. Since it is plant-based, it is not a complete protein but still a healthy option. The key is finding the right recipes for mixing it in because in all honestly it does not taste very good. Eric attempted to mix it with oatmeal and added way too much (imagine a bowl of green/brown chunky-ness eww). After watching him barely get it down, I decided to research recipes others have tried in order to make something that taste relatively good. Fruit smoothies seemed to be popular so I made a concoction that really didn’t taste that bad.

Strawberry hemp shake

Makes about 3 pint glasses worth

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of frozen strawberries
  • 2.5 cups unsweetened almond mil
  • 2 tbsp hemp protein powder

Directions:

  1. Mix in a blender to desired consistency
  2. I made this shake pretty smooth and blended

Although drinking a glass definitely fills you up, each glass is only about 100 calories. I think I have my new breakfast option 🙂 I think I will use this to supplement the juicing and other protein drink just to make sure I am covering most of the nutrients I need. I am in no way saying that all these drink supplements replace eating complete, and healthy meals but its a good way to get that extra boost that I am looking for, especially for those p90x workouts!

