Tags

, ,

I was looking for a new recipe for ground beef and originally considered making a beef and barley stew. After some thought, I remembered that Eric isn’t a huge soup or stew fan so that idea was tossed out. Luckily I stumbled upon a recipe for beef skillet that was similar to my first idea, just not in soup/stew form. So, I took out my skillet and started prepping for dinner.

From emily bites

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup frozen vegetable soup mix
  • 1/2 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 cup Beef Broth
  • 1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 small tomato, seeded and chopped
  • 1 cup medium pearl barley
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 bay leaf

Directions:

  1. Bring a large skillet to medium heat and cook ground beef and onion together, breaking up meat until it is browned. Drain.
  2. Add minced garlic and cook for an additional minute.
  3. Add the broth, tomato sauce and water and bring to a boil.
  4. Once boiling, stir in the vegetables, barley and seasonings.
  5. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 45-50 minutes until barley is tender.

Success! Buying the frozen vegetable mix saved me a lot of prep/cook time. This was really easy and tasted great. Even Eric was a fan of the dish!

