Tags

, ,

I was craving a sweet treat but wanted it to be something small and not overly indulgent. After browsing a few blogs, I found the perfect solution on Cookin up north. Usually I am not a huge apple fan but these looked really tasty so I thought I would give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 pkg. (14.1 oz.) refrigerated pie crust (I used Pillsbury)
  • 3 tbsp melted butter, divided (I used smart balance which has less fat but can be used just like butter)
  • 2 medium tart apples, each cut into 8 wedges (I used granny smith)

(From Cookin up north)
Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon, set aside 1 Tbsp. On a lightly floured surface, unroll the pastry. Brush with  2 Tbsp. melted butter, sprinkle with remaining sugar mixture.
  2. Cut each sheet into 8 one inch strips, about 8 in. long. Wrap one strip around each apple wedge, placing sugared side of pastry against apple.
  3. Place on parchment paper lined baking sheet. Brush tops with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar mixture. Bake at 425 for 13-15 minutes or until pastry is golden brown. Serve warm. Makes 16.

They smelled so good that I had to try one as soon as they were out of the oven. Delicious!!! Eric put it perfectly, it had just the right apple to dough ratio!

