Tags

, ,

Oh, the technology learning curve…

A few days ago, Eric and I made the decision to switch over to Verizon so of course it was time to think of new phones. We both thought it was time to switch over to smart phones since we are probably the only people left without one, well maybe us and my grandma. At first, I thought I would just get an iPhone. I’ve owned an itouch for a while so I figured the transition would be easy. But, Eric decided to convince  me to look into the Razr which is what he was getting. Apparently this phone was faster, had a few more features than the iPhone, and would come out to $11.11. Yup, that’s right…the price was a huge factor. Since the phone was released on 11/11/11, amazon was having a special for new Verizon members so that if we got a certain plan (which we were looking at anyways) and bought the phone that day, it would come out to $111.11 and then we would get a $100 amazon credit which brought the price down to $11.11. AWESOME. The amazon credit is great since we buy almost everything on amazon.

I was convinced and purchased the Razr. It arrived a few days later and so the learning began. I’ve reached several frustration points but I think I am learning (very slowly). My first goal was to learn how to make the phone stop saying “droid” in that robotic voice. I have the basics of calling and texting down. I can also see the difference in having 4G over the usual 3G. It’s much faster! Another thing I like is that it is made of kevlar and gorilla glass so it is much more durable. There are other “fancy” features that I’m sure I will think is great as soon as I figure it out. So, now I’ve joined the rest of society with smart phones and I’m sure I will love the phone eventually but there are still times when I miss the simplicity of phones…

