Tags

, , ,

Lately, I have been craving sweets as soon as I come home only to be disappointed with the few options in our house. In an attempt to clean out our fridge and pantry (and maybe some slight laziness), we have not gone grocery shopping for several weeks. I’ve decided to make it a challenge to figure out how to use what we have when preparing meals. But, this isn’t working well with desserts. So, while I was out  buying Eric some bread (an essential for his daily PBJs), I decided to pick up some Pillsbury Funfetti cake mix since it was on sale.

Yes, I know I really should not buy boxed cake mix but I just felt like cheating a little with my baking tonight.

I  didn’t want to spend time making a cake and then icing it so I decided to try a recipe using the same mix to make cookies. It required less prep and bake time, plus I would ge to use our new cooling rack we received as a gift. The instructions were simple:

In a mixing bowl, combine the cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1/3cup oil using a mixing spoon. Place little cookie balls on an ungreased pan and flatten them into cookie form (about 1/4inch thick). Bake for 6-8 min at 375 degrees. Easy enough for me!

Yes, they are large. The way I see it, I’m going to eat this amount of cookie whether it is 1 big one or 4 little ones so I might as well make them huge!

Since they were so big, they ended up all joined together. This is why the edges look cut off.

I was pleasantly surprised that our cake mix allowed us to have cookies. It definitely hit the spot. Yumm! They taste like the top of a cupcake (my favorite part). Maybe I’ll give it a try with other box cake flavors.

