Tags

, , ,

Eric has helped me so much the past few weeks with my hand injury. Now that it is getting better, I am able to do things for myself but this was definitely not the case before. I really wanted to do something nice as a surprise for him and thought food would be the best way to do this.  His favorite dessert is the pineapple upside down cake (well maybe this is one favorite of many desserts…). A few years ago my mom made these miniature pineapple upside down biscuits so I thought I would give it a try and make them for Eric.

I found the recipe on food network and made a few adjustments to the ingredients. It was a success! Eric loved the surprise and definitely attempted to eat all 10 of them in one sitting. Luckily, I convinced him to slow down and save some for later. I snuck in a taste and they were very tasty!

Here are the adjustments I made:

  • 1 10oz can of crushed pineapple
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3tbsp butter
  • 1 package 10 count biscuits
  • 10 maraschino cherries

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Grease 10 cups of a muffin tin (I tried a cupcake tin too and it was small but still worked). Strain the can of crushed pineapple, save juice for later.

Combine the pineapple, sugar, and butter, and mix well. Divide the pineapple mixture among the muffin cups. Place a cherry in the center of each muffin cup, making sure cherry hits bottom of cup. Place 1 biscuit in each cup on top of sugar and pineapple mixture. Spoon 1 teaspoon reserved pineapple juice over each biscuit. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until golden. Cool for 2 minutes. Invert the pan onto a plate to release the biscuits. Serve warm.

 

This is how they look out of the oven

Flip them over onto a pan

