Tags

,

After looking into different cardbox ideas, I just couldn’t bring myself to spend $30-40 on a decorated container to hold cards. This seemed like something I could focus my limited crafting abilities on. I went to the craft store and found a wooden chest ($7.00), wooden letters ($2.00) and hanging sign ($1.00). I thought these items could make a great cardbox, all it needed was a few touch-ups. This made for the perfect activity for a sunny day.

I went to the hardware store and bought a small container of “special walnut” stain for $6. I originally chose a dark walnut stain but Eric reminded me that you could always make stain darker, not lighter. With that in mind, I decided it would be best to just get the lighter stain. Keep this in mind for your staining activities. Instead of buying the staining brush, I used an old rag since you would need a rag to wipe up the excess stain off the wood anyways. So, off I went!

This only took about 15-20 min to do and then I just left it out to dry. I took my wooden letters and glued them onto the stained sign. Afterwards, I took a screw and drilled it into the wooden chest to hold the sign. Here is the final product:

I think it has a little antique-like look to it, definitely happy I went with the lighter stain. I am really happy the way my first staining activity turned out and it was really easy!! Since the sign is removable, I will probably use it around the house after the wedding.

Pre-wedding workout: 81 days left in P90x

  • Saturday- ~60min core synergistics
  • Sunday- ~50 min cardio

 

Wedding countdown: 118 days

